Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding

  • List of elected ISGPB Awards & Fellows for the year 2017 see the detail in News and events site
  • The election schedule of the society for 2018-19 see the detail in news and events site


Fellow, Elected 1986

Born in Hubli, Karnataka on 20 May 1958. Educated at Gandhinagar High School, Bangalore 1970-72; D. Banumaiah's High School, Mysore, 1973; Sarda Vilas College, Mysore, 1973-75; Banaras Hindu University
1975-81; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1982-86. B.Sc. 1979; M.Sc. 1981; Ph.D: 1986. Joint Director (Research), Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi , 2013 to date. Scientist, Regional Station, Shimla, 1986-91, Scientist Senior Scale 1991-98, Senior Scientist 1998, Office-in-Charge, National Phytotron Facility, 2002-06, and Head, Division of Genetics, 2006-13, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi.
ISGPB Fellow Directory

Awards/Honours: ICAR Jawahar Lal Nehru Award, 1987; IARI B. P. Pal Award, 2003; V.S. Mathur Memorial Award 2004; ISCA Platinum Jubilee Lecture Award, 2006; A.S. Cheema Award, 2011; Borlaug Award, 2012;
Rafi Ahmad Kidwai Award, 2012. Research Areas: Plant breeding, genetics, molecular marker assisted

Address: Joint Director (Research), Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 110012; B-7, IARI Campus, New Delhi 110012; [Tel: Off. (011) 25843379; Res. (011) 25847216; Fax: (011) 25843379; Email:;]